hardly never ordinary


i was with a friend earlier when we decided to see tim burton’s alice in wonderland. it wasn’t as amazing as i thought it would be. i mean the visuals were great and all and as usual johnny depp was eerily good, but the movie was missing something. well i’m no critic but i don’t think this goth, slash, emo-ish version would garner much praise.

what is was more surprised was when my friend told me that she has never read the book. and she actually compared alice to thumbelina!

i was slack-jawed when she said she hasn’t read either of the books. when i was a kid, it was required reading, like the lord of the rings. sure lewis carroll’s wonderland is nothing like an epic, but it was an intelligent book. impressively made and it was tim burton, way before tim burton.

i guess that’s what’s missing in today’s generation (wow, writing that suddenly made me feel old), reading is not part of growing up anymore. kids today would rather watch adaptations than read the books. of course, much of the book’s essence is lost when it’s translated to film.  and i doubt kids today have ever of cliffnotes.

kids who are not reading are missing a lot of things. for one, they are not able to use their imagination, there’s only so much spongebob can do. and that’s sad, reading books opens doors to a lot of things. and i am truly thankful for my parents who made me pick out books for me to read during summer.

when i was a kid, reading books, especially those without pictures allowed me to paint all the scenarios in my head and put me in the director’s chair. it was fun. and as i grew older, and my taste in literature became varied, i was able to put faces into characters, render them with voice, and even ‘experience’ the things i’m reading.

and although i hardly have the time to read, there’s nothing more that i want to do than just curl up in bed with a very good book. i would gladly go down that rabbit hole once again.

4 thoughts on “hardly never ordinary

  1. I haven’t seen Alice. But I’m hoping it’d be awesome. 😉 I hope Burton didn’t sacrifice the story for the visuals though.

    As for your thoughts about this generation’s lack of enthusiasm for reading, I definitely agree. That’s why I’m teaching my nieces to not rely on media so much. 🙂

  2. i fear for my son and my future children. gives me the chill just to think of a world without at least an angstrom of a book’s spirit.

    1. okay, i had to google what ‘angstrom’ means. nosebleed! 🙂

      well, i guess it’s up to us grownups to keep telling them yung’uns to read em books.

      thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

